Since the year 1954, only direct form of Electro-Convulsive Therapy was administered to patients. The full-fledged Department of Anaesthesiology was started in the year 2003 following the purchase of computerized Electro-Convulsive Therapy machine and Boyle’s apparatus. Modified ECT was introduced in the year 2004.

The department is fully involved with the patient care services in addition to undertaking theory classes and demonstration sessions to the post graduate and diploma students of the Institute. Besides, it also caters to the medical students and professionals coming from other academic institutions.

List of Staff

Name:            Dr. K. N. Kalita, MD (In-charge)
Designation:    Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Asst. Medical Supdtt-II
Contact:        094351 13426
E-mail ID:

Name:           Dr. Anil Koiry, DA
Designation:   Senior Resident (Anaesthesiology)

This is the official Website of L. G. B. Regional Institute of Mental Health, an Autonomous Institute under
Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of India. Best Resolution 1024 X 768 Pixels